OrixaLume is an independent financial comparison platform. We may earn a commission when you click through.
Bangladesh Personal Loans: Rate, Tenure, and Eligibility Compared
EBL reaches 40 lakh with an 8-year term, while DBBL starts at 8.10%; compare fees, guarantees, income rules, and rate risk.
Quick Picks
Best overall: EBL Executive Loan.
Best budget: Dutch-Bangla Bank Personal Loan.
Best for salaried borrowers: BRAC Bank Personal Loan.
Bangladesh’s personal-loan market splits into two camps: lower advertised rates with more conditions, and simpler loans that charge more. EBL offers the highest ceiling and longest term in this comparison, while Dutch-Bangla Bank publishes the lowest base rate. Bank Asia and One Bank are easier to understand, but their rates are materially higher.
Rates and terms shown are representative. Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and circumstances. This is not financial advice — always read the lender's terms before applying.
Lower Advertised Rates, Larger Borrowing Capacity
The cheapest headline rate is not automatically the cheapest loan. A variable rate, processing fee, guarantor requirement, or longer repayment period can change the total cost and approval experience. These three products make the most sense when rate and borrowing capacity matter more than minimal paperwork.
EBL Executive Loan
EBL Executive Loan combines a 9%–11% representative rate with a ceiling of BDT 40 lakh and a 96-month term, giving it the broadest repayment capacity here. According to Eastern Bank’s official product page, eligibility extends beyond salaried applicants to self-employed people, professionals, and landlords, although employer categorization affects pricing and non-categorized employees need at least BDT 30,000 income. One personal guarantor is required. I would choose EBL over BRAC Bank for a borrower needing more than BDT 20 lakh or an eight-year schedule, but the longer term can increase total interest even when the monthly installment falls. Best for professionals or self-employed borrowers with documented income who need a large unsecured loan and can provide a guarantor.
Dutch-Bangla Bank Personal Loan
Dutch-Bangla Bank Personal Loan undercuts EBL’s lower rate at a published base of 8.10%, but the product tops out at BDT 20 lakh and charges a processing fee of 0.50%–1.00%. The bank’s official page includes an online calculator, though its result is explicitly approximate, so treat the displayed installment as an estimate rather than a quote. DBBL also requires current-employer service history, which may exclude newer employees even if their income is sufficient. Compared with EBL, the rate advantage matters most on a smaller loan; EBL remains more practical for a large balance or extended term. Best for salaried borrowers who want a lower published base rate and access to a wide branch and ATM network.
Rupali Bank Shohoj Rin
Rupali Bank Shohoj Rin advertises a 9.00% variable rate, but its product page describes a maximum loan of BDT 10 lakh and a term of up to 48 months, not the BDT 20 lakh ceiling shown in the summary data. That discrepancy is exactly why applicants should verify the current offer directly with Rupali Bank before relying on a headline comparison. Personal and third-party guarantees are required, and the variable rate can change quarterly, putting future installments at risk of rising. The product is aimed at cottage and manufacturing activities, so it is less clearly aligned with ordinary household borrowing than EBL or DBBL. Best for government-linked or other borrowers who can supply the required guarantees and accept a four-year maximum term.
Rate-focused borrowers should verify whether the quoted figure is fixed, variable, or a base rate before applying. Dutch-Bangla Bank’s official calculator shows how repayment estimates are presented, while Eastern Bank’s product page sets out the Executive Loan’s eligibility and term details. The lowest number on a page is only useful if you qualify for it.
Guarantees also separate these products. EBL requires one personal guarantor; Rupali Bank requires personal and third-party guarantees. DBBL’s published summary is less guarantee-heavy in the supplied data, but employment history remains a condition.
Predictable Repayments and Simpler Eligibility
Not every applicant needs the largest ceiling or lowest base rate. A clear fee schedule, a defined monthly installment structure, and a manageable documentation list can be more valuable than a headline rate that changes with the borrower’s profile.
Bank Asia Personal Loan
Bank Asia Personal Loan uses a 14.50% flat rate, a 0.50% processing fee, and a 0.50% prepayment fee according to the supplied product information. That transparency is useful, but the price is high beside DBBL’s 8.10% base rate and EBL’s 9%–11% range. The BDT 50,000 minimum supports smaller borrowing, and a spouse may apply jointly, yet eligibility is limited to salaried individuals at approved organizations. The five-year maximum term also gives less repayment room than EBL’s 96 months. A flat-rate label deserves careful checking because it may not represent the same cost calculation as a reducing-balance APR. Best for a salaried applicant who values a published fee schedule, needs a modest amount, and can repay within five years.
BRAC Bank Personal Loan
BRAC Bank Personal Loan starts from a 9.50% base rate and reaches BDT 20 lakh without collateral or cash security. Loans below BDT 5 lakh need no guarantor, which gives it a practical edge over EBL for smaller borrowing. The supplied product details also mention 12- to 60-month EMI repayment and insurance shield coverage, but the base rate can increase with the lender’s spread, so the starting figure is not necessarily the final rate. Employment documentation remains necessary. Compared with DBBL, BRAC Bank costs more at the published base but may be easier for a borrower seeking a guarantor-free amount under BDT 5 lakh. Best for salaried professionals with documented employment who need unsecured borrowing below BDT 20 lakh and want to avoid a guarantor on smaller loans.
Standard Chartered Personal Loan
Standard Chartered Personal Loan gives payroll clients a lower stated income threshold of BDT 26,000, compared with BDT 35,000 for non-payroll applicants and BDT 55,000 for self-employed applicants. Its illustrative rate is 12.5%, and the product supports borrowing up to BDT 20 lakh with top-up flexibility and 200% insurance coverage, according to the supplied listing and the bank’s official page. The rate is not guaranteed; the lender explicitly frames it as illustrative and dependent on profile. This makes the product more expensive than EBL, DBBL, BRAC Bank, and Rupali Bank on headline pricing, but payroll access and insurance may justify the difference for some applicants. Best for salaried Standard Chartered payroll customers with income above BDT 26,000 who value top-up access and insurance more than the lowest rate.
There is no universal cheapest option here. DBBL and EBL lead on published pricing, but EBL asks for a guarantor and DBBL’s calculator is only an estimate. BRAC Bank is more practical below BDT 5 lakh because it removes the guarantor requirement, while One Bank’s takeover facility can change the arithmetic for an existing borrower. Standard Chartered’s insurance and payroll threshold add value only for applicants who qualify for those terms.
One data-quality warning matters: the supplied Rupali Bank summary says BDT 20 lakh, while the product page says BDT 10 lakh. Confirm the current ceiling, rate basis, and repayment schedule before submitting an application.
Comparison Table
| Product | Representative rate | Amount | Term | Key eligibility or fee point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBL Executive Loan | 9%–11% | Up to BDT 40 lakh | Up to 96 months | Personal guarantor; salaried, self-employed, professionals, landlords |
| One Bank Personal Loan | 15% flat | BDT 50,000–20 lakh | 12–60 months | 0.50% processing fee, capped at BDT 15,000; takeover may be fee-free |
| Bank Asia Personal Loan | 14.50% flat | From BDT 50,000 | Up to 60 months | 0.50% processing and 0.50% prepayment fees; salaried applicants |
| Dutch-Bangla Bank Personal Loan | 8.10% base | BDT 50,000–20 lakh | Not specified in supplied data | 0.50%–1.00% processing fee; employer service history |
| BRAC Bank Personal Loan | From 9.50% base | Up to BDT 20 lakh | 12–60 months | No guarantor below BDT 5 lakh; employment documents |
| Standard Chartered Personal Loan Bangladesh | 12.5% illustrative | Up to BDT 20 lakh | Not specified in supplied data | Income threshold from BDT 26,000 for payroll clients; top-up facility |
| Rupali Bank Shohoj Rin | 9.00% variable | Product page says up to BDT 10 lakh | Up to 48 months | Personal and third-party guarantees; quarterly rate changes possible |
All rates above are representative or base figures rather than guaranteed APRs. Applicants should ask each lender for the reducing-balance calculation, total repayment, processing charge, prepayment rules, and any insurance or guarantee costs before comparing offers.
Choose Dutch-Bangla Bank for the lowest published base rate, EBL Executive Loan for a large balance or long term, and BRAC Bank for a smaller unsecured loan without a guarantor. Before applying, compare total repayment rather than the headline rate, then read Unmasking Myths: Personal Loans in 2026 for common claims about approval, flat rates, and credit checks.